

## Walk of Fame in-Person Committee Meeting MEETING MINUTES

Committee Members: Mark Walker (Chair), Ennis Davis, Michael Fitzgerald, Kimberly Harrison, Mitch Hemann, Dr. Clarence Hines, Tori Peoples, Al Pete, Nicholas Puzo, Ron Rothberg, Lisa Thomas, Dennis Whittle.

Mayor's Office: Bill Delaney, City Council Liaison

DIA Staff: Ina Mezini, Strategic Initiatives Coordinator

### I. CALL TO ORDER

Committee Chair Mark Walker called the Committee Meeting to order at 4:14 p.m.

### II. PUBLIC COMMENTS

None

### **III.MEETING OBJECTIVES**

DIA Staff Ina Mezini shared the meeting's purpose: to finalize the list of 30 inductees based on Committee voting results. She reiterated the criteria for inclusion:

- 1. Nominee must meet one (1) or more of the following:
  - a. Born and/or raised in Jacksonville/Duval County
  - b. Spent a significant amount of time in Jacksonville/Duval County
  - c. Attended school or launched music career in Jacksonville/Duval County
- 2. Nominee must demonstrate significant accomplishments and longevity in the music industry

### IV. REVIEW NOMINATION RESULTS

Ms. Mezini summarized the results of the voting that took place since the April 17 meeting:

- 17 out of 21 Committee members submitted nominations.
- Results were organized into three tiers:
  - Majority Support (9+ votes): 15 artists
  - o Partial Support (3–8 votes): 28 artists
  - o Limited Support (<3 votes): 76 artists (not under consideration)

Ms. Mezini noted that although no artist received unanimous support, she and Chair Walker agreed that the 15 artists in the Majority Support category represent a strong consensus. She recommended the Committee vote to induct these 15 artists.



### V. VOTE ON MAJORITY SUPPORT CATEOGRY INDUCTEES

Committee Chair Walker called for a motion to induct the 15 artists in the majority support category into the Jacksonville Walk of Fame.

Committee member Davis recommended an amendment to combine the Johnson Brothers – James Weldon Johnson and John Rosamond Johnson – into one single plaque.

**Motion:** Committee member Ron Rothberg motioned to approve the amendment.

**Second:** Committee member Michael Fitzgerald seconded the motion.

Vote: Aye: 12 Nay: 0 Abstain: 0

### **MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY 12-0-0**

Following the amendment, Committee Chair Walker called for a motion to induct the 14 artists in the majority support category into the Jacksonville Walk of Fame, as follows:

- 1. Limp Bizkit
- 2. Johnson Brothers (James Weldon Johnson & John Rosamond Johnson)
- 3. Lynyrd Skynyrd
- 4. Lil Duval
- 5. Allman Brothers Band
- 6. Molly Hatchet
- 7. Ray Charles
- 8. Blind Blake
- 9. Ulysses Owens, Jr.
- 10. Yellowcard
- 11. 38 Special
- 12. 95 South
- 13. Marcus Roberts
- 14. Tedeschi Trucks Band

**Motion:** Committee member Lisa Thomas motioned to approve the list of 14 names.

**Second:** Committee member Ron Rothberg seconded the motion.

Committee Chair Walker called for a vote on the list of 14 names.

Vote: Aye: 12 Nay: 0 Abstain: 0

**MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY 12-0-0** 

# DOWNTOWN INVESTMENT AUTHORITY

## **Downtown Investment Authority**Walk of Fame In-Person Committee Meeting

Monday, May 19th, 2025 at 4:00 p.m.

### VI. VOTE ON PARTIAL SUPPORT CATEGORY FOR REMAINING INDUCTEES

Chair Walker explained the Committee would now select the remaining 16 inductees from the 28 nominees in the Partial Support category using individual voting forms.

The Committee discussed combining Quad City DJs, 69 Boys, and 95 South into one plaque due to overlapping members, but ultimately decided to keep them separate due to each group's unique contributions.

Each Committee member voted for up to 16 artists. Results were as follows:

Frederick Delius: 10 votes
 Quad City DJs: 11 votes

3. Pat Chapelle: 9 votes

4. Mae Axton: 9 votes5. 69 Boys: 10 votes

6. Charlie "Hoss" Singleton: 12 votes

7. Classics IV: 9 votes8. Gram Parsons: 8 votes

9. JJ Grey & Mofro: 10 votes

10. Shinedown: 9 votes

11. Billy Daniels: 5 votes

12. Cold: 2 votes

13. Glenn Jones: 9 votes14. Jackie Moore: 5 votes

15. Jahaan Sweets: 7 votes16. Jamison Ross: 4 votes

17. Longineu Parsons, II: 7 votes

18. Mase: 4 votes

19. Red Jumpsuit Apparatus: 5 votes

20. Black Kids: 5 votes

21. Bunky Green: 3 votes

22. Jean & Doug Carn: 4 votes

23. John Lumpkin: 5 votes

24. Ma Rainey: 7 votes

25. Rein Sanction: 5 votes 26. Tim McGraw: 8 votes

26. Tim McGraw: 8 votes

27. Von Barlow: 3 votes28. Walter Orange: 7 votes



Committee Chair Walker read back the top 16 vote-getters (7+ votes) and called for a motion to approve their inclusion.as follows:

- 1. Frederick Delius
- 2. Quad City DJs
- 3. Pat Chapelle
- 4. Mae Axton
- 5. 69 Boys
- 6. Charlie "Hoss" Singleton
- 7. Classics IV
- 8. Gram Parsons
- 9. JJ Grey & Mofro
- 10. Shinedown
- 11. Glenn Jones
- 12. Jahaan Sweets
- 13. Longineu Parsons, II
- 14. Ma Rainey
- 15. Tim McGraw
- 16. Walter Orange

**Motion:** Committee member Al Pete motioned to approve the list of 16 names.

**Second:** Committee member Ron Rothberg seconded the motion.

Committee Chair Walker called for a vote on the list of 16 names.

Vote: Ave: 11 Nay: 1 Abstain: 0

Nay: Committee Member Fitzgerald

### MOTION PASSED 11-1-0

Committee Chair Walker then recommended selecting three runners-ups (from nominees who received 5 votes) in case any of the top 30 inductees decline participation.

The Committee voted by show of hands to designate the following runner-ups, in order of priority:

- 1. Billy Daniels
- 2. Black Kids
- 3. Jackie Moore



### VII. ACTION ITEMS & NEXT STEPS

Committee Chair Walker and Ms. Mezini thanked the Committee for their time and invaluable contributions.

Ms. Mezini announced that the previously scheduled June 2, 2025 meeting would be canceled, as the Committee had reached consensus on all 30 inductees.

Committee Member Thomas inquired about future recognition for individuals in Jacksonville's music industry who are not musicians (e.g., producers, promoters, other industry professionals).

Ms. Mezini responded that the City will explore this topic as part of future discussions about the long-term development of the Walk of Fame. She noted that 13 spaces remain available for future inductees, and that long-term planning will include:

- Establishing a formal nomination and review process
- o Defining a regular induction schedule (ex: every 2-3 years)
- o Determining how many inductees will be added during each cycle
- Exploring additional ways to honor contributors once all 43 available spaces are filled, potentially through digital kiosk or similar installation.

Updates on these initiatives will be shared with the Committee as plans become more defined.

Committee members also asked if there would be a meeting to plan the Walk of Fame's grand opening. Mezini confirmed that a meeting can be organized in the coming months and will be scheduled accordingly.

## VIII. OTHER MATTERS TO BE ADDED AT THE DISCRETION OF THE CHAIR None

### IX. ADJOURN

Committee Chair Walker adjourned the CRA meeting at 5:23 p.m.